British Champions Series: The Sprint category

Published on June 13, 2017 by totalhorsechann

British Champions Series: The Sprint category

Video Provided By:  OfficialBCSeries

For horseracing’s speed merchants, the QIPCO British Champions Series Sprint category comprises two races over the minimum distance of 5 furlongs (1,000 metres), the King’s Stand Stakes (Royal Ascot) and Coolmore Nunthorpe Stakes (York), and five races over 6 furlongs (1,200 metres), the Commonwealth Cup – which is exclusive to three-year-olds – (Royal Ascot), the Diamond Jubilee Stakes (Royal Ascot), Darley July Cup (Newmarket), Betfred Sprint Cup (Haydock) and the finale on QIPCO British Champions Day, the QIPCO British Champions Sprint Stakes (Ascot).

All of the sprint contests, bar the Commonwealth Cup, are open to horses aged three years and up, with the Coolmore Nunthorpe Stakes also open to two-year-olds.

Category Tag