Unforgettable Horse Race Runs In The Breeder’s Cup History

Image Source

Horse racing event is one of the many sports events that is most awaited by a lot of individuals. It is a sport for running horses at speed, competing against one another into reaching the finish line and getting the aimed award.

One of the oldest sports is horse racing, but there has been nearly no change in its fundamental concepts over the decades. Horse racing emerged since then as a king’s sport.  Thus, it is still one of the most viewed and attended events in today’s time, at the same time among the few groups of legal gambling site on the world.

Any sports today has its unique betting information and guides that serve as the primary source of attraction. Same as to horse racing, wagering was among the top reasons why the event survived as a significant major sport and people keeps on coming back as it also includes the competitive amount of winnings.

Moreover, another upcoming horse racing event will happen again this year, on November 1 & 2. Breeder’s Cup World’s Championship is a run for Grade 1 Thoroughbred horses which occurs annually and organized by a company formed in 1982 which is the Breeder’s Cup Limited.

Although not having the same popular history as with the present famous Triple Crown, the Breeder’s Cup horse racing event has been a ground for remarkable racehorses since its inception in 1984, where it started as a single-day event up until in the year 2006.

Starting the year 2007, the event extended its activities into two days having 14 races namely; Dirt Mile, Classic, Filly & Mare Sprint, Juvenile Fillies, Juvenile Fillies Turf, Longines Distaff, and Longines Turf, Maker’s Mark Filly & Mare, Juvenile Turf, Mile, Sentient Jet Juvenile, TwinSpires Sprint, and Turf Sprint.

An official flower garland made of; Golden Asters, Beauty Asters, and Cattleya Orchids cultivated solely for the event by Kroger Floral Design Center are traditionally used every year for the World’s Championship.

Thus, there are numerous amazing horses and Breeder’s Cup horse race runs that become part of its history and lingers to every individual’s memory:

Goldikova (2010)
Among the biggest names in the event’s history, Goldikova first appeared as a 3-year-old against male racehorses in one of the Breeder’s Cup World’s Championship races, Mile, in the year 2008.

The horse created history in the year 2010 winning three consecutive wins in the Breeder’s Cup races taking the Mile race and Goldikova, for the third time finished the run leaving astonishment in the racetrack.

Moreover, Goldikova attempted a “four-peat” in the year 2011, but did not end up victorious and finished in third place at Churchill Downs. Despite not winning the fourth time, there’s no other racehorse ever won the Mile race in three successive years.

St. Nicholas Abbey (2011)
A colt shipped from Ireland by trainer Aidan O’Brien, St. Nicholas Abbey, made its way to the 2011 Breeders’ Cup Turf race and won first place.

In three starts the racehorse was unbeaten, including the race at Doncaster, the G1 Racing Post Trophy. Producing only one star at three-years-old, he finished sixth as Newmarket’s favorite in the 2,000 Guineas.

Aidan O’ Brien brought with him one of his ties, Joseph O’Brien, his son, who became St. Nicholas Abbey’s jockey. Joseph became the youngest jockey who won the Breeder’s Cup race as an 18-year old and five months, overcoming 18-years and ten months old Fernando Jara who won riding racehorse Invasor, in one of the Breeder’s Cup races, Classic.

Wise Dan (2013)
As a 6-year-old racehorse, in the year 2013 won five races in a row on Turf competition.  A unique horse who loves running, way back in the year 2012 he won back to back in the Breeder’s Cup Mile race. Ridden by his jockey John Velasquez, Wise Dan threw his full power and speed in the middle of the race to pass the leader of the pack, Obviously, and won by 1 ½ length.

The accomplishments of Wise Dan in 2012 have been so commonly acknowledged and elected as the Champion Older Male, Champion Male Turf Horse, and as Horse of the Year.  Back on turf to retain his Mile title at Santa Anita as the 4-5 favorite, ridden by Jose Lezcano, stood behind horses on the far curve and passed Za Approval and Obviously by three-quarters of a length.

The year 2013, Wise Dan duplicated his awards as Champion Turf Horse and Older Male, and as Horse of the Year.

American Pharaoh (2015)
A magnificent 3-year-old with a smooth and gentle step not seen in generations, American Pharaoh, since 1978, has become the first Triple Crown winner.

Thus, American Pharaoh in his 2-year-old season showed terrific potential and finished his career as the very first horse with winning the Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes, Belmont Stakes, and the Breeder’s Cup Classic horse racing, all in the same year.

In the year 2015, as 2-year-old, he was selected as the Champion for the Eclipse Award. He was seven out of eight earning a competitive amount of $8,288,800; the most cash ever won in a single season.

Furthermore, in the Classic event of the Breeder’s Cup, he won the top spot of the 2016 IFHA Longines World’s Best Racehorse with a score of 134.

Beholder (2016)
Entering the Breeder’s Cup Longines Distaff race as the reigning matriarch of the sport, Beholder finally proclaimed as the winner before bowing in retirement. In his time in the horse racing industry, he became the second horse to win three races of the Breeder’s Cup races.

Thus, Beholder matched Goldikova, with most Breeder’s Cup career victories. She completed 26 starts with 18 winnings with an income of $6,156,600.